Home > Uncategorized > Rip off repairmen

Rip off repairmen


About a month and a half ago the master bath shower developed a slow leak.  After 2 weeks I’d had enough of listening to the incessant drip and looked into fixing it.  I found plenty of information on the web and it looked like a royal pain to replace the innards so I broke down and called a plumber.  The next day the plumber showed up.  One of the things this company does is to check the water pressure which was at 90psi.  He indicated that is was too high and may be contributing to the early failure of the faucet.  Next he went to the basement and pointed out the pressure regulator adjustment bolt was all the way in meaning the regulator can’t be adjusted further and should be replaced.  He wrote up the pricing to fix the faucet ($289) and the cost to replace the regulator ($497).

So now I’m quickly trying to figure out if $289 is worth it or if I should just tear out the wall behind the faucet and replace the whole thing myself.  A day to replace the faucet and start fixing the wall followed by another day to finish the drywall, texture it and paint it.  I hate repairing drywall; I suck at it.  Screw it, I’ll pay to have the faucet fixed.  The regulator; no way.  That’s just two copper joints; I can do that in my sleep.

Almost a month later and I finally got around to looking into that regulator.  I put a pressure gauge on the hose bib and sure enough it’s at 90psi.  I go down to the basement to look at the model number (Wilkins model 70).  A quick Google search and I find the installation instructions which show how to replace the interior parts.  Looks promising.  A little further down and it indicates that to adjust the pressure you turn the adjustment bolt OUT to lower the pressure!  A half turn of the bolt and in 5 minutes the pressure is down to 70psi.  You’ve got to be kidding me!  This jackwaggon was going to charge me $497 to replace a perfectly good regulator that just needed a quick adjustment? 

 I’ve sent a nice little note to their corporate office with all the details and a sentence comparing predatory repairmen to used care salesmen and congress.  I doubt I’ll get a response.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

