Home > Uncategorized > Heavy curtains

Heavy curtains


This is definitely not tech but I am a jack of all trades so I figured I’d share this with you. Have you ever had drooping curtain rods? I’m sure you’ve all come across this.

I think it’s a combination of cheap hardware and heavy curtains. I’m leaning more toward cheap hardware though because when I removed the brackets I could very easily bend them with my fingers. These have been up there for a few years and I finally got around to fixing them. I didn’t want to go out and just purchase another set of cheap brackets just to have them fail so I came up with a different solution.

I had some leftover 1/8″ thick aluminum stock in the garage that I cut down to size. Then I bent a couple 45 deg angles and trimmed everything to the correct size. I self tapping screw holds it in place to the original bracket. And finally a brown sharpie toned down the bright shine of the aluminum.

As you can see in the background, I have another set to take care of. I think these will last many years.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

