Home > Uncategorized > DAC SportSafe instructions

DAC SportSafe instructions


I had a gun safe in the trunk of my car for the last few years but now I’m getting ready to trade it in.  I removed the safe and figured it was a good time to change the batteries.  Of course I should have found the manual first but in this internet age I didn’t think there would be any problems finding it online.  Well, much to my surprise the manual is no longer available on the manufacturers web site.  I was able to pull down a couple pages by visiting the way back machine but that wasn’t enough.  After much searching I found a forum post where a guy posted his e-mail address if anyone needed the instructions.  I figure I’ll post the basics here for easy access.  A big thanks goes out to Calvin who sent me the pdf!

The default code is 1234.  To program in a new master code find the learn button on the inside behind the locking mechanism.  Press and hold for 2 seconds and you will get a green LED on the keypad.  Enter your new code then press the learn button and hold for 2 seconds.  You will now get a red LED on the keypad.  Enter your new code again and once again press and hold the learn button for 2 seconds.  The LED will blink green 5 times and then go out.  That’s it.

The beeping on this unit is very loud when you press the buttons, so one other bit of info you might want to have is how to turn off the keypad beeping.  Press the learn button for 2 seconds until the green LED comes on.  Repeat this 6 more times for a total of seven times.  There will be a lot of beeping so you might want to do this in the garage with hearing protection.  Then press and hold buttons 2 and 3 for 5 seconds and the green LED will go out and sounds are silenced.  Intuitive eh?

  1. Jose
    June 11, 2012 at 8:02 PM

    Thank you so much for this post…helped me out so much! Could not remember if it was 2 or 3 times! Gave my manual to my father who is in another city & unreachable tonight…thanks again!

  2. Matt
    July 6, 2012 at 9:10 PM

    I owe you big time, thanks a million.

  3. Jumper
    July 27, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    Thanks for the post, I changed the batteries in mine and it reset the code. Thanks again.

  4. texassports1
    July 29, 2012 at 1:53 PM

    Hey Chuck, as luck would have it, my ATV 2003C will not open and I cannot find my instructions. Any chance you still have the POC that helped you out? Trying to figure out how to reset the combination. Thanks ahead of time for the help.

  5. July 30, 2012 at 2:55 PM

    @tesassports: If you don’t know the code and don’t have the key you only have two options. 1. Call a locksmith. 2. methodically go through all the codes. If the batteries are dead you might be able to plug in an AC adapter and then try the default code of 1234.

  6. framsted.chris@gmail.com
    September 1, 2012 at 10:21 AM

    Your instructions were perfect! Thank you

  7. Jd
    October 18, 2012 at 6:47 PM

    You’re the man! Thanks

  8. Ryan
    November 17, 2012 at 9:40 PM

    Thanks so much!!! I lost the instructions a while back and I have really needed the gun safe.

  9. Susan Scott
    December 19, 2012 at 7:20 PM

    Hello, Chuck,
    Thanks to you, I was able to find these instructions to even get the DAC SportSafe open for the first time. I got this safe as a White Elephant gift at a party years ago and upon opening it, it appears it was regifted because it was locked and had no instructions, no keys and no AC cord. With your help, I was able to set my own code and it works flawlessly, despite the years it has sat unused. Now I want to change the batteries but haven’t a clue of where they are or how to do it. Could you please post some instructions for that? And if you’d be willing, I’d send you my email address so I could request Calvin’s full set of instructions that you mentioned in your initial post. I just bought a gun and remembered that this was in the garage–it’s going to save me $100+ if I can get it to operate fullyand reliably. Thanks so much for your help with this-you’re a lifesaver!!

  10. December 27, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    The battery tray is located inside the safe attached to the top. There are wing nuts on both ends of the tray. I’ll send the manual to you at the address that shows up for your comment. Glad it has helped.

  11. mark chavez
    January 4, 2013 at 11:57 PM

    Hi Chuck,
    I had my safe in storage and I think the batteries are dead. I had put the keys inside the safe so I wouldnt loose them, duh. Now I cant open it. Is there another way to charge it? Is it a charging jack on the right side of the DAC SportSafe next to the speaker? If so what kind of charger can I get for it? Thanks so much for any help….

  12. Rick
    January 9, 2013 at 10:20 AM

    I to would like to thank everyone that has kept this thead alive. Saved me alot of headaches with re-setting the combination once I pulled the batteries out and changed them and thanks for the tip on how to turn off the keypad beeping. Thanks Guys

  13. January 9, 2013 at 7:47 PM

    mark chavez :

    Hi Chuck,
    I had my safe in storage and I think the batteries are dead. I had put the keys inside the safe so I wouldnt loose them, duh. Now I cant open it. Is there another way to charge it? Is it a charging jack on the right side of the DAC SportSafe next to the speaker? If so what kind of charger can I get for it? Thanks so much for any help….

    Just checked the manual. Yes, on the right side is a power port. The manual says you can use a 12 volt DC charger to power it. They don’t make one. The manual says you can use a cars power port (we used to call them cigarette lighter adapters) to power it up. Good luck and us know if it works.

  14. Mark
    January 10, 2013 at 8:54 PM

    Hey Chuck,

    I used a laptop charger and pluged it to the port on the side. It beeped and the green light turned on and I used the default code 1234 and it opened. That did it. Thanks for your help.

    Mark

  15. j kudlak
    February 1, 2013 at 10:21 PM

    Thanks. You bailed me out when I changed the batteries. Now I have to find the keys wherever they happen to be hiding. You don’t remember how to put in a second lock code do you?

  16. February 2, 2013 at 8:03 AM

    j kudlak :

    Thanks. You bailed me out when I changed the batteries. Now I have to find the keys wherever they happen to be hiding. You don’t remember how to put in a second lock code do you?

    Programming a second access code:
    1. Press the learn button for 2 seconds. Green LED on and a beep
    2. Press the learn button again for 2 seconds. Green LED blinks twice and 2 beeps.
    3. Enter the second access code.
    4. Press the learn button for 2 seconds. Red LED and 2 beeps.
    5. Enter the second access code again.
    6. Press the learn button for 2 seconds.
    7. Green LED flashes 5 times and 5 beeps. If the red LED flashed then an error has occurred.

    For a third access code you would add between steps 2 and 3: Press the learn button for 2 seconds. Gree LED blinks 3 times and then stay on with 3 beeps.

  17. Lawrence Cherish
    February 14, 2013 at 11:05 AM

    What do you do if you forgot your code and can’t find your key? Toast?

  18. February 14, 2013 at 7:12 PM

    You’ll need to plug in a power source and then use the default code to open the safe. Further up in the comments you’ll see I mentioned the manual says to use a 12 volt DC power source. Someone else managed to use a laptop charger that I’m guessing had a 12VDC output. So, no, you’re not toast; you just need to do a little more work.

  19. Lawrence Cherish
    February 14, 2013 at 11:45 PM

    Will 110 AC work? Or do I have to take it out to the car and plug it into the lighter.

  20. Lawrence Cherish
    February 14, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    Sorry I answered my own question! Thanks!!!!

  21. Lawrence Cherish
    February 16, 2013 at 3:46 PM

    OK I hooked up a AC adapter, does it number left to right or right to left. There are no numbers on the buttons. Do you have to wait a period of time for it to reset to default?

  22. February 16, 2013 at 7:11 PM

    Left to right. As long as you have a 12VDC adapter it should work unless the safe is broke.

  23. Craig Remner
    February 17, 2013 at 1:17 PM

    I too had lost the ‘intuitive’ instructions for turning off the very annoying beeps.
    Your help was greatly appreciated. My world is quiet again!

  24. Ken
    April 29, 2013 at 5:15 PM

    Thanks it helped

  25. Gino
    June 23, 2013 at 4:18 PM

    How do you set secondary code ?

  26. Dave
    July 10, 2013 at 5:52 PM

    Thank you for the info for the code change. How do you change the batteries? My safe is dead.

  27. July 20, 2013 at 7:57 AM

    Gino :

    How do you set secondary code ?

    Scroll up in the comments a little bit and there are the instructions to set a secondary code.

  28. July 20, 2013 at 7:59 AM

    Dave :

    Thank you for the info for the code change. How do you change the batteries? My safe is dead.

    Scroll up in the comments. If the safe is dead with no key then you’ll need to attach a power supply. If you have the key the battery pack is mounted to the top inside of the safe with wing nuts on each side.

  29. August 21, 2013 at 12:27 AM

    Totally in your debt!! Thanks. BTW: The locking mechanism is far superior to the Gun Vault… I have one each.

  30. Gary L. Ernst
    September 20, 2013 at 6:21 PM

    Well Chuck, you are better than our sporting goods store in Fresno, CA where I purchased the sports safe. I called for assistance to re-enter my password combo. They now have new staff and typical for a sporting goods they told me to go fish. The owner would have rolled over in his resting place hearing the staff persons’ response. From a old valued once customer. Thank you very much for your posting. 🙂

  31. Hiram
    October 26, 2013 at 1:21 PM

    Nice tips and great info. Used them to open my dead safe. Anyone know where to order another key? Also I was able to use a 9 volt battery by unplugging the AA battery tray. Can someone email me the PDF?

  32. Brian
    November 1, 2013 at 11:34 PM

    Thank you for all of the info. It was greatly appreciated. The steps for silencing the beeping didn’t work for me. So I just cut one of the wires to the speaker. Everything still works, silently.

  33. henry
    December 2, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    thanks for putting this info up, it was very helpful!!

  34. Stephen Pham
    February 2, 2014 at 2:08 PM

    Chuck,

    Thank you so much for this. You are a lifesaver!

  35. nick
    February 16, 2014 at 5:11 PM

    these should be the instructions for the safe.
    http://www.dactec.com/images/stories/PDFs/atv2003_instructions.pdf

  36. Jason M.
    February 22, 2014 at 8:31 PM

    Anyone have any idea what type of power supply or connection to use. I have tried numerous ones, and even bought two different “universal” 12vdc power supplies that come with multiple tips and none of them will work. Nothing really “clicks” in. I know someone used a laptop charger, I’ve tried that, the power supply for a hard drive, and old laptop plug and nothing is fitting. The secondary lock is stripped because I was using the key and there are no batteries. This is my last step before giving up and going to a lock smith.

    It seems that the connection for the power input is something I’ve never seen before.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  37. Alan
    February 23, 2014 at 5:23 PM

    Hi! I’m Alan – I appreciate your post – did you ever figure out how to change the battery? I have a dac safe and I think it’s time! Thanks,

    Alan

  38. February 28, 2014 at 4:29 PM

    There are a couple of thumb nuts holding the battery pack in place at the top of the safe.

  39. March 1, 2014 at 10:48 AM

    Thanks a million! Worked perfectly and saved me I’m sure hours of searching for the manual I would likely never find

  40. May 21, 2014 at 9:04 PM

    my safe will not open the batteries are low and when i press the bottons no beeps then i let it charge back uo by leaving it alone and when I type in my code it will not open, I just opened it 2 days ago? cant find the little circle key? now I cant seem to open it? how can my code have changed ?

  41. May 26, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Sounds like the batteries are dead. At this point you will need to either find the key or use a power adapter plugged into the side. Read the comments above.

  42. J.Cade
    May 26, 2014 at 9:52 PM

    Shannon did you try the original code?

    I’ve had this safe for two weeks and all of a sudden it reverted back to default (1-2-3-4 combo and audible beeps). I’m going to have to send it back.

  43. Brooke
    June 22, 2014 at 2:02 PM

    We have a sportsafe and the battery is dead. Therefore we are unable to get into it. I’ve plugged an a/c adapter into and let it charge for days and it still won’t open. Do you have any suggestions as to how to get it open? If I took it to a gun store would they be able to open it somehow?

  44. June 23, 2014 at 8:52 PM

    With it plugged in try the 1234 sequence. It should open. If it doesn’t then the power adapter isn’t the right voltage/wattage. Or just use the key that you probably lost like I did.

  45. Jim Rosasco
    July 12, 2014 at 6:38 PM

    Thanks for the info Chuck. My batteries went dead and the safe was locked with my Glock in it. I had the keys in my long gun safe so I got my sport safe opened and changed the batteries and reset the combo with the help of your instructions. Thanks again.

  46. Jim Rosasco
    July 12, 2014 at 6:46 PM

    Chuck and Brooke: Do you think the keys may all be the same? I’ve got four keys for my sport safe and I could send you one to try.

  47. July 13, 2014 at 9:55 AM

    Jim, the keys are different but thanks for the offer. Another option for anyone who had lost keys it to have a locksmith replace the lock. My stepson who is a locksmith has done that.

  48. Mark Belli
    July 21, 2014 at 4:02 PM

    Chuck

    Would love to have a copy of the PDF. Sometimes the batteries work if I shake the box sometimes they just work. Don’t have a key for it so am Leary about putting my gun in it and not being able to get it out when I need it
    Thanks a million

  49. July 24, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    Thank you; saved my bacon! Joe

  50. Ray Smith
    October 3, 2014 at 8:28 AM

    Thank You!

  51. Harry
    November 14, 2014 at 2:15 PM

    WoW I love it when a blog comes together. I found a power supply to my older type laptop, plugged it in, 1,2,3,4, its open. Have been threatening for a year to take it apart with a sledge. Nice to know I can now change the batteries and have a working gun safe. Thank you all for all the information. Makes this a GOOD day.

  52. Chuck McQuillan
    December 10, 2014 at 10:11 PM

    Thanks for the help, Chuck. Figured out how to enter to enter the code but could not remember how to kill the d@mn beeper. Not at all intuitive. But it’s working now, quietly. I wonder if the beeper is to alert intruders that the homeowner is getting firepower, and that now would be a good time to vacate the premises.

    As a side note – your post from 3 years ago is still helping a lot of people. Kudos.

  53. February 19, 2015 at 8:05 PM

    I’m glad it helped. As for the beeper warning an intruder, here is my view. I don’t want any noise until I’m armed and ready, and have also dialed 911. After that there are some who recommend yelling out to indicate you are armed. Not a bad idea since if you do stop the intruder you may still go to jail in many states. But every situation will be different and each person must try to make an informed decision under very stressful conditions.

  54. Rick
    August 3, 2015 at 6:30 PM

    I add my thanks to the others. I changed the batteries and couldn’t remember how to reset the code.

  55. Rick
    August 3, 2015 at 7:05 PM

    The instructions for putting it in silent mode didn’t work for me either — I see one other commenter said the same. Those of you with a manual, would you take another look on how to silence it? Thanks.

  56. August 3, 2015 at 7:15 PM

    Rick. I no longer have the safe or the manual but I’m very confident the instructions for silencing the beeps is correct as many other comments indicate. Actually I think I still have the old hard drive that has the manual so I might be able to find it and verify the instructions are correct. I know it worked for me.

  57. Lee
    September 14, 2015 at 1:43 PM

    Chuck, Thanks for your post, it was a big help.

  58. October 28, 2015 at 3:46 PM

    very good lost manual able to reset code thanks

  59. nicwolff
    January 30, 2016 at 12:55 PM

    This is the best page on the Web! Got my old safe working again and I can verify that the silencing instructions given here work.

  60. Alex
    April 3, 2016 at 9:07 AM

    Thanks for the info. You turned a 2 hrs process into a 15 min process for me!!

  61. Luke
    April 11, 2016 at 12:45 PM

    Thanks a million I figured out the default code by accident but couldn’t remember how to set a ne one ur instructions are perfect and thanks for the silence I had no idea that was even possible

  62. Roger L. Routzon
    May 15, 2016 at 1:57 PM

    Chuck mine did not have enough strength to open the safe and with your instuctions I was able to open it up I don’t know the name of the safe but it is like the one you told us about. Mine has a sockect for a nine volt battery on top if you get it before it goes completely dead. I have the code back in it but every five minutes it cherps like a bird five times and it is driving me nuts. I read the rest of your instuctions and tried it but I was not succesuf.I held the button for two seconds and the green light came on and when I released the button it made a noise the green light stayed on then I tried it again up to seven times it is still chirping I’ve heard others ask you for the instructions you got from someone now I’m asking. Maybe you can tell me what I’m not doing or doing wrong. I’ve got it locked up in my filling cabnet but I can still here it all night from our room.Thank’s

  63. May 15, 2016 at 2:53 PM

    Roger, I’ll see if I can find the instructions but I doubt they will work with your model. If I were you I would cut one of the wires going to the speaker. You can always twist it back together if you need to later. That has got to be worse than a smoke detector with a low battery.

  64. Iloveflamingoes
    June 22, 2016 at 5:12 PM

    Thanks a bunch! My only problem now is that the spring action door does not work with the code. It only pops open with the key! I hear it unlock. Just no popping open. 😕

  65. Teri
    August 17, 2016 at 11:12 PM

    The dac sports safe I have is closed and one key worked to open it. But when I tried the other key, it is stuck and it won’t open the door since the key won’t move or come out. Does anyone know what I can do? It’s bolted down on my shelf as well. Help,,,

  66. September 25, 2016 at 8:31 PM

    Chuck,
    Would it be possible to give me the e-mail address for Calvin so I can ask him for the complete owners manual for my DAC Sportsafe Thanks Budco

  67. Paul
    January 21, 2017 at 4:40 PM

    thank you much! You a life saver.

  68. Daniel N Butler
    February 15, 2017 at 9:05 PM

    Thanks for this I was finally able to change my batteries and recode the box.

  1. June 7, 2012 at 9:56 PM
  2. June 10, 2012 at 10:03 PM

Leave a Reply

