Home > Computing > Exchange Management Console tries to connect to an old server

Exchange Management Console tries to connect to an old server


In getting Exchange installed in our environment, I had to completely rip it out and start over.  I started with mail1 and mail2 servers running the CAS/HT/MBX roles but found that I would have needed a hardware load balancer for the CAS array.  After getting everything up and running in a proper configuration, I launched the Exchange Management Console from my admin workstation and the “Microsoft Exchange On-premises Server” fails to initialize because it’s trying to connect to the old mail1 server which doesn’t exist anymore.  I tried uninstalling the management tools from my workstation and re-installing them.  Still failed.  After a hour or so of looking around I finally found out how to fix this.  Delete the following key in the registry:  HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Exchangeserver\v14\AdminTools\NodeStructureSettings.

Restart the EMC and you’ll be good to go.

Categories: Computing Tags: , ,
  1. Jason L
    October 17, 2013 at 3:41 PM

    I have been looking for this everywhere. Good work. This has been ticking me off for a few days now. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

