Home > Computing > Outlook 2010 show picture placeholders

Outlook 2010 show picture placeholders


This little setting cost me a few hours of time. I have no idea how it got messed up but I have the fix. The problem is e-mails wouldn’t show images, only boxes where the image is supposed to be. It took me just a few minutes to find the setting. With a message open click File -> Options -> Editor Options… -> Advanced -> Show picture placeholders. So I uncheck the box and the pictures show up in the e-mail. All is good until the next day when I start Outlook again and the setting is checked again. No matter what I do I can’t seem to get the setting to stay unchecked. Well here is the fix.

First here is what the e-mail should look like:

And here is what the e-mail looks like with Show picture placeholders checked:

So you would think that when you go in and uncheck that setting all would be good, but the problem is it doesn’t stick. The trick is to create a new e-mail, change the setting, and send it to yourself (or someone else if you want). When you change the setting in a new e-mail it will persist.

Enjoy

Categories: Computing Tags: , ,
  1. sunny
    September 26, 2013 at 8:51 PM

    Thanks… nothing else work except this solution.

  2. Gaye
    October 18, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    This didn’t work for me! I don’t know what else to do.

  3. Molla
    October 22, 2013 at 10:13 PM

    Thank you .. I really spent lot of time to fine solution and only yours solve my problem.

  4. January 1, 2014 at 3:41 AM

    for outlook 2010 it worked… thanks!!

  5. Mariano
    August 5, 2014 at 9:48 PM

    THANK YOU !!!!!!
    THANK YOU !!!!!!
    This bug drove me crazy !!!
    THANK YOU !!!!!

  6. David
    October 14, 2014 at 1:55 PM

    You rock!! that was irritating!

  7. dot
    October 16, 2014 at 5:09 AM

    Wow, so easy and it worked!!!

  8. George
    December 14, 2014 at 4:01 PM

    It’s amazing. I’ve spent hours trying to figure this out but nowhere in all the technical did anyone mention this step. Also, this happens ever time I do an Adobe update.

  9. February 10, 2015 at 9:08 AM

    Bravo! You solved my issue! You are the man!!

  10. John
    March 31, 2015 at 5:53 PM

    Chuck, you are damn genius. I spent three hours following guidance from other very official sounding sources, and nothing worked until I stumbled upon this. Thanks for the help!!! I was about to reinstall, yadda, yadda…..

  11. Nick
    October 8, 2015 at 11:20 AM

    You sir, are a Genius! Been working on this for a client for a long time. Glad I came across your fix. Thanks a ton!

  12. Paul
    December 14, 2015 at 7:15 PM

    This little setting cost me a few hours of time. I have no idea how it got messed up but I have the fix. The problem is e-mails wouldn’t show images, only boxes where the image is supposed to be. It took me just a few minutes to find the setting. With a message open click File -> Options -> Editor Options… -> Advanced -> Show picture placeholders. So I uncheck the box and the pictures show up in the e-mail. All is good until the next day when I start Outlook again and the setting is checked again. No matter what I do I can’t seem to get the setting to stay unchecked. Well here is the fix.

    “WITH A MESSAGE OPEN” click File ->……. THE TEXT within Double Quotes is very important.

  13. Frank O.
    September 28, 2016 at 2:50 PM

    I have this same problem, but it with Calendar invites, not email, in Outlook 2010. I can insert an image when I create the invite and I can see it, but once I send it, neither I nor the recipient can see the image – we see just the square box around,it exactly as described above for emails. I’ve done the above steps under email, but there is no equivalent under the Calendar. Any ideas?

  14. September 28, 2016 at 7:02 PM

    I don’t have any suggestions except maybe try the same steps, but do it with a calendar invite open instead of an email. My other suggestion is to never attach anything to calendar invites; instead send a followup email with the attachment. The reason is calendar invites consume mailbox space and are rarely deleted. At some point I get a call from a customer saying they are getting an error because their mailbox is full, but they only have a few emails. It’s because they have years of invites with attachments (usually chart packages).

  15. Min
    May 24, 2017 at 3:11 AM

    Solution for Outlook 2010: Go to File -> Options -> Contacts -> Check the show photographs… -> restart outlook and enjoy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

