Home > Uncategorized > Robocopy throttling

Robocopy throttling


I’ve tried using Robocopy bandwidth throttling switch many times in the past but never seemed to figure it out.  Today I have the need to start a slow copy for many files over a T1 line and went in search of the solution again.  I came across this blog post that gave a formula that works perfectly.

D = (Ba-Bd) / (Ba*Bd) * 512 * 1000

Where D = the /IPG switch value you will enter in Robocopy.
Ba = the available bandwidth of the link in Kbps.
Bd = the desired bandwidth you want to consume in Kbps.

In my case the link is a T1 so I used 1500 for Ba and I wanted to use 200Kbps.  So I ended up with 2218 for the IPG switch and now it’s a nice slow copy that will go overnight.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

